Prioritise I must!

Prioritise priorities.

I’ve been enjoying blogging so much that I’ve put everything else on the back burner- work, study, chores….

I’ve recognised the need to promote balance when I was drafting my posts. When I was finally done it was way WAY past my bed time. Luckily, I didn’t have work the next day.

So I’ve decided to create some form of a schedule to help keep everything in a nice equilibrium. Whilst struggling to create this ‘timetable’ I realised that it was not going to work. My schedule changes daily and the orthodox timetable was not going to be suitable, so it was back to the drawing board.

It was a couple of hours later that I realised that having to much time can render me unproductive; since I’ve got long days working 2 jobs and studying, I needed to be very wise with how I spent my precious hours.

This by no means cramping as much into my day and having no breaks. This means utilising the time I have towards a productive outcome.

Thus, I’ve created a Task + Duration list instead. This essentially is a guideline of how long I should spend on each activity. Not included in this list are things that I have to do or have no problems with being efficient- i.e. work. I think that this is a fun way of doing things having the time limit indulges my competitive side.

The duration of the tasks listed are how much you should spend in one sitting. For example, with study, I would chose 2 days to do 2hrs session and 3 others for 1hr sessions. By all means, repeat the task, only after you have finished all the others…

*Quick Clean has a maximum of 0.5hr an area- area literally means an area (bedroom, closet, pantry…) you can be as specific as you like.

You would noticed that some items on the list have a maximum duration, these tasks are ones that I tend to ‘waste time’ on. Putting a maximum keeps me in check and stops me from getting carried away.

How to use the Task + Duration list:

  1. Review things you have to do, add in the ones not on the list
  2. Figure out what you want to do when
  3. If a task in an everyday task, write everyday in the ‘Pick Day(s)’ column
  4. Get your phone or use an egg timer and get cracking
  5. BONUS: Create a game with your family and friends…have fun!

My list have been provided for your personal use and not for profitable re-distribution. Please give credit accordingly.

If you have created a list of your own, share it with me and let me know how it has worked for you.

3 thoughts on “Prioritise I must!

Leave a Reply

