Stuck

Can you think of a time when you felt like you were running in a hamster wheel, going nowhere, getting nowhere, just plain- stuck? Maybe you are feeling so right now…

I’m going to point out now that I’m no expert, but I do know that feeling- It is one that I ‘battle’ with everyday.

The length of this state of mind varies. Some people experience it one day and manage to shake it off or distract themselves, for others it can last for years on end.

Maybe battle is too strong a word- let’s just say ‘keep in mind’.

Personally I’ve been conscious of feeling stuck for almost 4 years. It comes and goes, other times it sticks around for longer, refusing to budge.

But I’m responsible.

It is me who feel it; who should be in the driver seat. It is me who can get it back into gear. It has taken me a fair while to work out a strategy to cope with it. Yes, I use it almost everyday, sometimes a few more on days I need it most; no, it’s not perfect- I’m constantly tweaking it and improving it. Below are four tips that I’d like to share with you, maybe it’ll help you, maybe it’ll won’t…

Gratitude– When I get the feeling of being stuck, I stop and take time to think about the things I am grateful for.  I have a small notebook which I use to write 3 things that I’m grateful for at the end of each day. For example, today’s are:

  1. The Hubs amazing cleaning powers!
  2. Gym time!
  3. Relevant motivational messages

They can be as detailed or vague as you like! These are your gratitude points for the day!

Positive Anchors– Anchors are something that you use to pull you back to positivity. Each person have different anchors. These should be something simple and easy that you may already do. They may come to you unexpectedly, the idea is to be aware and ‘capture’ these anchors. One of my positive anchors is listening to classic FM on my way to work. It might be the music itself or the radio hosts but listening to that channel puts me at ease and good mood.

Throw out the routine– One of my favourite ways of throwing out the ‘stuck’ feeling is by throwing out structure/ changing it up. This can ‘throw you out of sync’ but in a good way. One thing I like to do change my gym time from evenings to the morning or scrap it all together in place of something else.

Trying something new– Take this as is. Doing something new does not mean you have to spend heaps of money, the activity does not have to be so ‘out there’. One thing new I tried was to bake my own bread. It was something that I had been intimidated but decided to have a go anyway. It was incredibly fun and now, every now and then, I would bake my own bread rolls!

Feeling stuck can have a negative impact on your overall well-being, if you are feeling this way, use the tips provided stick with it for at least 4 weeks. If you think you need more specific help, contact a professional. Manage it now.

Should you need some help, or would like to comment, use the contact form below.

 

Leave a Reply

