I is not Angry

When you are right, you don’t have to be angry, when you are wrong, you have no right to be angry.

I came across this bit of wisdom the other day and it resonated with me.

There are times, believe me plenty of times, when I am angrier than the hulk; carrying such angry and negativity to the point where people shunned me or are intimidated for the wrong reasons.  Not my proudest moments, but mine to learn from nonetheless.

Over the years, I’ve mellowed down, maybe wise up a little. The little bit of wisdom summed up a great portion of what I had to learn over time. I’m not saying that I’m the perfect example of peace, positivity and/or harmony, but I sure am closer to it than yesterday.

There still are times now when all I want to do is get angry at the world, scream and go a destructive rampage. I’m proud to say that I’ve managed to vanquish that urge in place of more mature, controlled and productive response. I think keeping this saying/statement in mind will be handy in day to day life.

Don’t get me wrong, I think anger is still an important and significant emotional state. It’s how you use the anger that is key. Think of anger like an energy, a fire. This fire can be used in different ways, yielding different results. Which one would be more positive/productive all in all more desirable- burning down a house or cooking a feast?

 

Today, I’m grateful for:

Quality time with my family

Blessing from my parents

Frozen yogurt with strawberries and chocolate peanut sauce!

Leave a Reply

