Being Valued

What does it mean to be valued?

How do you know when you are valued?

These are questions I ask myself on a daily basis. I was prompted to blog about this because of a conversation I had with a friend.

Feeling a little down and out with all the tasks and responsibilities that were piled sky high with his thankless job, he decided to resign from his job. However after the briefest conversation with the boss he chose to stay, due to guilt. He felt guilty because he holds expertise in crucial areas of the business that no existing team member can fill thus putting the operations of the company in jeopardy.  I know full well that the boss will most likely continue to expect instead of appreciating.

It was then that I realised how important it was to express outwardly the appreciation for others.

It’s too easy to forget that people need to be appreciated.

It’s too easy to expect because someone gives, without fail, without asking for something in return.

It’s too easy to devalue a person’s work be throwing a ‘thank you’ their way if any at all.

I urge you to be mindful of the value of others and the work they do. Say thank you with purpose….after all, appreciation is free.

Min xx

 

