Back + Traps + Biceps AKA Greatness

Happy hump day everyone!

Greatness. Intensity, power, wonder- this is greatness to me. It is also how I want to feel when I put the hard yards in. Greatness is not always momentous things. Most of the time we achieve small greatness. I know its an oxymoron but think about it, little things add up to considerable amount. How wonderful would it be it say, “I am rich in greatness because I had many little great moments/achievements.”- listen to me ramble on….

Today I struggled to get in the zone, don’t we all do sometimes! However, at the end of the session, I actually felt good! I felt accomplished, I felt on- track and ready to tackle the day. For some reason, when I left the gym a thought came to the front of my head:

I’m great and nothing’s going to stand in my way and dampen my mood!

Work’s put us through some interested training and I will share it on the blog as soon as I have unpicked it and relate it to LIFE. So stay tuned on this one.

I am a health and fitness enthusiast. I am NOT a doctor, health or fitness professional. Please seek advice from your doctor/health/fitness professional before engaging in any physical exercise such as this workout.

Duration: 50 mins

Resistance: 10-12 reps

Cardio/Plyo: 15-20 reps

3 sets of each unless otherwise stated

Superset 1:

Barbell bent over row

Explosions/rocket jumps

Superset 2:

Pull up shrugs*

Back extensions

Superset 3:

(Assisted) Pull ups

V-ups

Superset 4:

Dumbbell bent over row

Lunge jumps

Superset 5:

Barbell curl

Single arm dumbbell preacher curl

Double Failure:

Hammer curl

Barbell Wrist curl + negatives

*Pull up shrugs are great if you are unable to perform a full range pull up. To perform a pull up shrug, hang on to the bar, use your lats to ‘lift’ you up. You should feel your lats flare out and contract inwards at the base.

When it’s time to do assisted pull ups, remember to contract your lats and then pull up!

If you are already able to do full range pull ups, pause at the top for every rep, relax and contract your lats while you’re there.

Leave a Reply

