Smile Challenge

Do we rush around so much that we have forgotten to unleash the most basic feel good ‘mechanism’?

When I was at the gym, there were a few other people working out today, only 2 were actually smiling and enjoying themselves.It wasn’t then that I noticed how much we rushed around or just tick along.

I was with a gentleman that I work with and we were having a chat in a cafe. I excused myself to use the restroom, when I returned, I witness him trying to draw the attention of another patron who was standing waiting for his takeaway.

This man was buried in his phone, furiously typing away. Once he got his coffee, he zipped past and was oblivious to my member’s greeting to, “have a good day”. Afterwhich, the gentleman that I work with, happily turned back to his own cuppa.

We live in a fast-paced world and the advancement of technology, in a way, contributes to our disconnect with our environment and the people around us.

I must admit, I do sometimes forget to smile, with thoughts floating around in my mind; mental lists; choreography that I’m trying to remember- I have a pretty intimidating ‘serious’ face, or so I’ve been told.

Anyway, so I challenge you, as I challenge myself- smile and see how many smiles you get back. Did it change the way you interact with people?

Moving right along, today’s workout- chest, triceps, abs

Duration: 45 mins

Resistance: 12-15 reps

Cardio/Plyo: 15-20 reps

3 sets of each unless otherwise stated

Superset 1

Incline dumbbell fly

Goblet squat with side leg raise (don’t whip your leg, control it up)

Superset 2

Dumbbell fly

Dips

Superset 3

Iron cross

Push up (with hand release, deliberately slow, as fast as possible)

Superset 4

Tricep pressdown

Overhead tricep extension (+ 3 negatives on the last set)

Stand alone

Skullcrusher with weight plate MAX reps- aim 30-35 with medium weight

 

Express Abs: 

24 reps of each

Hanging Tuck ups

Exercise ball transfers

V-ups

 

If you got a favourite exercise/sequence/circuit, please feel free to share below! 🙂

Enjoy!

 

I am a health and fitness enthusiast. I am NOT a doctor, health or fitness professional. Please seek advice from your doctor/health/fitness professional before engaging in any physical exercise such as this workout.

Leave a Reply

