Back and Shoulders Day

What a luxury! I took my own sweet time today and rocked up at the gym just before 12 noon. I realised today, that the gym is the best place to practice smiling for cheer- in a way, making things look effortless. Did I look goofy? Sure, it’s all part of it.

Today, I also represented the ladies at the gym. I held out long enough before 3 others showed up. When I finished my workout and was refilling my bottle, a Kiwi guy said, ‘you’re a strong girl!’

Tip: Always take a compliment, never brush it aside! It makes you and the person giving the compliment awkward.Ā 

Thanking him, he continued, ‘not many chicks would be lifting…’ Come one girls! LIFT!!!

It does wonders! If I have to list 5 reasons why I lift they would be thus:

  1. Its strength and endurance at the same time
  2. I get cardio as well!
  3. Lifting gives me better posture
  4. I feel stronger
  5. I get more definition

Anyway, today’s workout:

Resistance: I alternated heavy weights (less reps) with medium weights (more reps) Most of the superset’s first exercise is with heavy weights, I’ll note if it’s not! šŸ™‚

Reps: 8-15

Sets: 3-4

Warm up

Seated row

Superset 1

Bent-over lat pulldown

High rope pull

Superset 2

Wide grip pulldown

Behind the head pulldown + negatives

Superset 3

Barbell row (medium weight)- 2 sets with regular grip and 2 sets with reverse grip

One arm Dumbbell row

Superset 4Ā 

Military press

Front and Lat raises

Stand alone (3 sets)

Rear delts + negatives

Bent-over lateral raises to failure

Pull up shrugs

Assisted pull up

Hanging tuck ups

Hanging side crunch

 

I am a health and fitness enthusiast. I am NOT a doctor, health or fitness professional. Please seek advice from your doctor/health/fitness professional before engaging in any physical exercise such as this workout.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Back and Shoulders Day

Leave a Reply

