Push Ups Are Too Mainstream*

Before I even registered the world this morning, I knew I was sore. To the point where I had to delay going to the gym. Instead, I rescheduled for an afternoon workout.

Despite the soreness, I managed the get through today’s workout. Even though it’s chest day, I worked my abs more.

Duration: 45 mins

Resistance: 12 reps (light/medium)

Body weight: 12-15 reps

3 sets unless otherwise stated

 

Superset 1

Cable iron cross

Tricep Extension

Superset 2

Barbell bench press

Low pulley crossover

Superset 3

Tricep rope pulldown

(Bend-back) pushups*

Ab circuit (4 sets)

12 Hanging tuck ups

Hollow body holds^ (HH) 10 seconds

5 dish tucks

HH

Reverse crunch

HH

V-ups

HH

Oblique ankle taps

HH

 

*If you are able to do a bend-back comfortable, try this. I like to change this up a little. If you are just starting out, hold the bend-back or do regular push-ups πŸ™‚

^Hollow body holds- Start off lying on the ground and press your back into the floor- There should be no arch in your back. Next, lift your arms by your ears. extend your legs out and pull your shoulders and legs off the ground. you should look like a dish. This was in our conditioning last night- a simple and effective test of your core strength.

Perform the Ab circuit from start to finish without any rest if possible.

 

I am a health and fitness enthusiast. I am NOT a doctor, health or fitness professional. Please seek advice from your doctor/health/fitness professional before engaging in any physical exercise such as this workout.

2 thoughts on “Push Ups Are Too Mainstream*

Leave a Reply

