Update + Flexibility

Hi all,

I know it’s been almost a month since I’ve blogged. Life has been hectic, from family visits, work and getting sick 😦

Rest assured, I’m on the road to recovery and am starting to feel like me again!

I’ve been going to the gym regularly for a few months now and I train 5-6 days a week (Closer to the 6). However, I haven’t been dedicating a lot of time for stretching and I’ve found that my flexibility has decreased significantly. It was little things like my shoulders feel strained before I stretch them; going into splits hurt WAY more than they should, I can’t do a bend back comfortably any more…

I used to pride myself in being a little more flexible then the average person, but now I feel completely useless!

So what did I do?

I’ve started to stretch and do yoga more religiously. There are plenty of classes available. If you are a complete beginner, I would highly recommend enrolling in a class. Having a teacher guide you through and ensuring you are performing the stretch correctly is highly important. Be sure to ask as many questions necessary.

However, for some who have sufficient knowledge and body awareness, look to youtube. There are plenty of stretching, Yoga, Pilates videos. It’s difficult to determine each youtuber’s credentials, the best advise I can give you is:

-look for video quality

-do they have a logo or are affiliated with any associations

-do they have a website? do the information satisfy you

-watch a sample of their videos, do they give clear instructions that YOU can follow, do they give you variations, are they appropriate to your level

-do you like the presenter/ teacher

 

These are some questions you can ask yourself. Currently, my favourite Yogi is Erin Motz. I’m doing the 30 day yoga challenge presented by Erin through doyouyoga.com

Make time to check it out!

Join the FREE 30-day Yoga Challenge with Erin Motz on Doyouyoga.com

Lesson learnt: Stretch everyday!!

Have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

