A Thought a Day: Healthy Body Image

Today I had the pleasure of attending a workshop addressing healthy body image in children and young people. The content of the workshop was not something new, in fact, I felt that they skimmed over the topic. This post is not a review about the workshop. (Don’t worry).

A question I was left with was, “How healthy is my body image?” This for me, is not the easiest thing to address or answer. As I sit here and reflect, I find that some days I do have a better perception of my body, but unfortunately, I think, most of the time, I have a rather negative perception of my body. However, I don’t believe that my perception is necessarily ‘bad’.

By nature, I am a competitive person. I used to compare myself to others, feeling more and more depressed, discouraged and absolutely down-trodden. I have learnt, the hard way, that this is not healthy. Since training more often, I have shifted the focus away from image/looks, to strengths and functionality. I didn’t plan for it to happen, it just did.

As I have said, I am a competitive person. So I started to challenge myself by doing more reps, lifting more weights and trying out new/weird exercises, without hurting myself of course. I know in my previous posts, I have talked about planning workouts down to the T, I have now since ‘wing-ed’ it, because it’s more enjoyable that way. Ever so often, I would give myself a Pop quiz, picking 5 exercises and going for my max for 1. I don’t even keep track of my ‘Max for 1 rep numbers’- If I got it, I can do it again. Off the top of my head, I have hit impressive (to me) ‘scores’ on various exercises. I am not posting it because I don’t think it’s necessary.

A thought that stuck with me today is the definition of body image which is as follows:

It is NOT how your body looks, but your PERCEPTION of your body and how you FEEL.

That’s my thought for the day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

