Worst Gym Session Ever (Warning: Rant!)

I’ve never NEVER ever had a bad day at the gym- until today.

It was leg day and I am always pumped for leg day Call me crazy, but it’s my favourite split in my routine. Maybe I like the instant burn and the DOMS that hit a couple of days after. Limping around for a few days =  badge of honour?

I got to workout with H today (Miracle! our work schedules somewhat synced.) I was looking forward to going to the gym. It’s always the same. I have a certain nervous excitement that tingles my spine. My heart beats faster and my skin goes prickly, no, I do NOT use a pre-workout supplement. The closest feeling I can describe these bodily/chemical reaction is like falling in love or seeing a lover after a long period of time. I’m not trying to be poetic, this is my feeble attempt in helping YOU feel what I feel about this space I have come to love.

Thoughts fly and collide in my head:

Gym time!

Maybe I’ll do ______

Perhaps I’ll combine _______ and ________

I want to beat my PB

So off we went to the gym, training started fine, I was not going as heavy as we upped the reps. A couple of exercises in, it was leg extension time. I have to be honest, I am not a fan of isolated/ traditional bodybuilding machine workout, but H does, so I went ahead and did them. BAD MOVE. I’ve dislocated my knee before, and subsequently have had partial dislocations (When the patella pops out and back in).

Click.

Ohhhhhh Shhhtevia.

So here I was thinking, ‘Oh crap, its out, its out!’ I kept to myself, not wanting to alarm anyone. I pushed passed and continued with the reps. It clicked back. Phew! Or so I thought…

It all went downhill from there. Lunges were too painful, 45s was out after I did a feather-weight (to me) set and started seeing stars, feeling cold and clammy. The worst part was when the sounds around me started to muffled and all I could hear was my own ticker. Didn’t even feel pain anymore.

So what did I do? Walked coolly to the toilet, locked myself in there until I felt better, return to H and announced that I was done. No explanation, just done.

It was the most frustrating and tormenting feeling, I’ve never felt dissatisfied with a workout till today. I know it may seem trivial to some that I blabber about the gym and training, the works, but this is something important to me. It keeps me sane…at least suppose to…

Oh well, tomorrow is a new day. This horrible session will be done and dusted, I won’t even think about it tomorrow.

 

 

Leave a Reply

