16 for 2016

It’s a lazy kind of a Sunday today, went to the beach with H, M (my sister in law) and L (my three year old niece) 🙂 The perfect way to end their visit as M and L are headed back to the other side of the country.

As I was floating about in the clear water, I asked myself “Why am I not coming to the beach more often?” It was then and there that I made one of my commitments to myself for 2016.

In the past, around about late November to early December, I start to make my New Year’s Resolution. Upon reflection, the resolutions I have made came from a place of regret; looking back on what has been and saying ‘man, I wish I could do that, I wish I had done that or I wish it had happened’. I’m a kind of person who has an internal galactic battle about an opportunity that comes up, gets so absorbed by it that the opportunity simply slips by- I don’t know why I do it, but I just do.

Looking at my New Year’s Resolutions for the last couple of years, I also noticed that I write really vague points such as, get healthy, be happy, travel…no wonder I come to the end of the year not realising anything I innocently set out at the start of the year!

This year, instead of making New Year’s Resolutions, I have simply set some goals that I would like to achieve.

Here are my 16 goals for 2016:

  1. 1 Strict pull up with perfect form
  2. 3 Kipping handstand push up (I chose Kipping because the timing of the movement is something I have not quiet gotten)
  3. 5m Handstand Walk
  4. 50 Double Unders in a row
  5. Deadlift 140Kg
  6. Back Squat 120Kg
  7. Front Squat 100Kg
  8. Snach 60Kg
  9. Bench 70Kg
  10. Clean 75Kg
  11. Get my splits back
  12. Travel to a new place
  13. Save up to pay off my mortgage
  14. Go to University to study a passion of mine
  15. Weigh under 70Kg (Lose fat, due to medical/health reasons)
  16. Go to the beach whenever possible, whenever necessary

After writing this up, I had a little chuckle to myself at how many of these were lifting/Crossfit related.

I’ve got a good feeling about this list 🙂

I’d love to know what’s on your list this year!

Min xx

One thought on “16 for 2016

Leave a Reply

