Pretzel dazzle Brekkie: Bamboo Bowl Foodie

Saturdays are glorious days, anything can happen. Will it be an adventure outdoors today? What about an escape into another world? Oh, how about simply a day to reorganise and recuperate?

Today I decided to treat myself by buying a Bamboo bowl that I have been eyeing for a couple of weeks. Let’s just say I’ve had enough of eating my one bowl meals from a tiny little cereal bowl, my only other option in my unit is a mixing bowl that I use as a fruit bowl.

I bought a flat Bamboo bowl which is shallow but wider- I’m excited about this because it lets me see my food in all its glory!

I believe that the right food is medicinal; having good nutrition that fuels your body keeps you healthy and happy inside and out. I do what I can to ensure I am nourishing my body, but no one is perfect, I’ve binged, get so busy that I forget to eat, only realising my misstep when I get the shakes.

My relationship with food have not always been nurturing. My lack of self worth and low self esteem combined with external influences have pushed me to go on diets that restrict calories. I’ve followed misguided literature provided by ‘experts’ which resulted in complete misery.

In the last 6 months or so I’ve started to repair my relationship with food, all through accepting who I am- my strengths, qualities, quirks and passions. I dont think I’ll ever be able to say I’m completely ‘cured’ of low self worth and self esteem but I’m ok with that.

So below is my very first Bamboo Bowl Recipe:

Things you’ll need:

  • A bowl of your choice- mine is a flat dipped bamboo bowl.
  • Chopping board and knife
  • Natural measuring tool- hands!
  • Spoon and fork

Ingredients

  • 2 handfuls of Spinach
  • 1 Kiwi, sliced
  • 1 medium Banana, sliced
  • 1 Pear, sliced
  • 1 Necterine, halved
  • 2 Tablespoon Coconut yogurt
  • A sprinkle of Chia seeds
  • Handful of Pretzel (set some aside for munching as you put this deliciousness together)

Steps:

  • Combine ingredients as you please, I recommend laying down a bed of spinach to get started.

 

Remember, you are you, a beautiful soul with a lot to offer and a lot to receive…be open to it.

Min xx

 

Leave a Reply

